6am repeat :: mercy bell // ‘icarus’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

 

Being that I am of the female persuasion myself, perhaps it is unnatural that I am generally averse to the sounds my fellow ladies make.  Aside from a bit of Patty Griffin here and a tad of Sharon Van Etten there, there aren’t that many women making sounds I find appealing.  I cannot explain, it’s senseless.

However, once in a while a voice comes along that breaks down that unfounded wall of dislike and today, that voice belongs to Mercy Bell.  All Good Cowboys, an album equal parts country and folk, reminds me of the heart wide open type of jams Sharon Van Etten is so beloved for peddling.  There are no voice acrobatics here, just soul.  The lead track, ‘Icarus’, starts slow but romps enough by mid-length to pique interest and by the album closer, ‘Lord Knows’, my heart was all at once exhausted and healed.  Yesterday’s gone, yesterday’s gone.  But I move on, but I move on.

**

Mercy Bell :: Icarus [stream]

 

BUY All Good Cowboys :: FACEBOOK

Leave a comment