family wagon :: last drag ep (or, let’s just discuss my maybe, probably questionable taste in television…)

I don’t watch television. We have 5 channels and that makes me happy. I do not know who the latest Bachelor is, I do not know of these Kardashians you speak, and the Oscars are as foreign to me as the foreign film nominees are to you. We get three PBS channels and like, something else. Weather, I don’t know. We watch a lot of Martha (a cartoon about a talking dog), okay. And that’s it. Aside from Happy Endings which I love but frequently (read: EVERY GODDAMN WEEK) forget to watch, it’s pretty much educational kid’s stuff and NOVA up in this piece.

Uh…mostly.

Confession time: I might be mildly obsessed with Hart of Dixie. I don’t know what my fucking problem is. It’s not like I watched The O.C and have some affinity for Rachel Bilson (though holy shit, you guys, she is as adorable as a sugar glider carrying around another little sugar glider doll and staring at you with tiny eyes whilst eating a bag of Skittles). It’s not like I was into Scott Porter on Friday Night Lights (although, it occurred to me not long ago that Shakey Graves used to be on that show and so was Porter (IN A WHEELCHAIR!) so basically, I’m friends with the latter now and also, he totally looks and acts like my son’s father in a way that’s so accurate it’s slightly creepy). And it’s not like I care about what goes on in fictional but charming small towns in Alabama. Do I? Oh wait, I do. They all have adorable accents! Everyone has a quirky name (Tansy, Lemon, Brick, Magnolia, Clora, and a dog named Dolly Parton)! And Zoe Hart does get herself into some antics. There’s a bar called the Rammer Jammer! There’s Lavon, the former NFL player turned mayor of Bluebell! There’s Wade, the resident hot redneck, and Lemon (left at the altar)  who wears the weirdest things that I kind of want to actually own, and fucking Carl Winslow. FUCKING CARL WINSLOW, you guys.

{I am over here objectifying these two men and I don’t feel even remotely bad about it.}

And then, there’s the music. I want to high five this show’s music supervisor and also ask s/he if they’re perusing my / my friends blog(s). In the last season they’ve featured Carolina Story, Blind Pilot, Whiskeytown, The Dirt Daubers, The Head and The Heart, Quiet Company, Michael Trent (of Shovels & Rope), and The Lone Bellow, just to name a few.

The other night I was watching and feeling all bad for Wade (the aforementioned hot redneck) because his life’s dream is to open his own bar and he’s got some deep rooted self esteem issues so it ain’t happening. His girlfriend, Dr. Zoe Hart, made him a neon sign for said bar before he went onstage at a Battle of the Bands thing and then he fucking sabotaged the whole thing by getting drunk and taking home some country skank (WHAT IN THE FUCK, WADE?!) and at the end of the show, I heard a song. And I was all tapping along with my toe and sort of rocking out and then holy shit, that’s Carolina Story! We wrote about them once, in August of year last.

Anyway. I’m rambling about a television show. The point is, Hart of Dixie has good music (and good lookin’ men and good clothes and good little jokes here and there). Case in point: Family Wagon, who I discovered via what is apparently my favorite show.

Family Wagon’s Last Drag EP is 4 tracks of stellar indie rock. We highly recommend this EP and a keen eye kept on this band.

**


 

BUY Last Drag EP :: FACEBOOK

1 comment
  1. fuzzpony said:

    I’ll confess, I watched the entire season 1 on netflix around christmas time and I’d watch the second season in a heart beat (no pun intended!) if I had access to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

