6am repeat :: gerard and the watchmen :: ‘hesitate’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

Sleep has not been important lately, bedtimes utter bullshit rules of grown-uphood that I refuse to acknowledge. I am bleary-eyed this morning and every morning here lately. It feels so wonderful.

This morning I stumbled upon I Climbed A Tree from Gerard and the Watchmen and one song in, I was enamored, even so early in the ante meridiem. By the last song, it was an album bought. And by the time “Hesitate” had set in, I remembered that once I had loved a banjo. I loved this kind of banjo, maybe more than the all the other kinds, because it’s so warm and if love has a sound at all, I imagine that it contains notes just like these…

Good morning. Good, good morning.

(P.S. Oh, hey there, friend! We just wanted pop in and let you know that if you should purchase this album (you’re gonna do that, right?), there’s a demo version of ‘Stables’. It will stab you in the heart and then sew it right back up, stronger than it was before. Basically, OMG YOU GUYS, IT’S GOOD. Get yourself this album. Also, we love you.)

**

 

BUY I Climbed A Tree :: FACEBOOK 

2 comments
  1. MT C said:

    Yes, indeed it is morning and a very good one at that. Just purchased this “I Climbed a Tree” thing and really look forward to hearing it everyday for the next week or so, and parts of it even longer. Thanks.

    Would like to drop one on you that I picked up from the Amazon MP3 place (as I have to purchase downloads here as shipping can be prohibitive along with customs and taxes and the like). Its not often I find ladies doing folk that I like and toss the banjo thing into the mix. I like this one and would like to suggest it to you. Its by The Good Tanyas and its their 2000 – 2012 A Collection. I’ve not heard them before, I don’t believe, but most probably you have as they have been around so long.

    How is it anyway that good music can be missed by happenstance for so long. Maybe I’m just not tuned in enough.

    Carl

  2. lilleyanne said:

    Awesome EP, and Stables is just class.

Leave a Reply

