6am repeat :: the speyside sessions // ‘barnyards o’ delgaty’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

Lat night a discussion between myself, @InMyTreeBlog and @Hearth_Music reminded me of those days when the Braveheart soundtrack was an album that I listened to day in and day out. Yes, that really happened. That was also the year that I hung posters of Scotland all over my room and spent most of my time trying to explain to my parents why studying Gaelic was a good move, college-wise. “Who cares that it’s a dead language!”, I pleaded as they tried to point out how fucking nuts I was over the bagpipes of ‘The Legend Spreads’ blasting in the background. As I told my internet friends last night, if I’d have been blogging in 1995, the Braveheart soundtrack would have surely been my pick for album of the year. I LOVED THAT BITCH THAT MUCH.

Then in the wee hours of the ‘morn, I stumbled upon this album on bandcamp. Listen and you’ll see the serendipity in that, no doubt.

“The Speyside Sessions was recorded by a group of musicians from the North East of Scotland. Best enjoyed accompanied by a fine single malt.” It’s too early for a single malt but I can still listen with this coffee.I blame my ancestry for drawing me into this music and the beauty of it for keeping me there…

**

 

BUY The Speyside Sessions :: FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

