6am repeat :: rhye // ‘open’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

The other day, while I got sunburnt up on a mountain, good pal Adam of songsfortheday sent along his Summer Mix and Jesus if this dude is literally as good as Rob Gordon at putting these together. People often don’t realize just how damn hard it is to concoct these bastards, especially if you’re gonna choose a subject and attempt to adhere to those constraints. Every song on that mix is impeccable and that’s hard enough but more than that, each of the jams really does say ‘summer’. Adam is one of those dudes I tell people at concerts that I’m friends with because he’s a g’damn rock star blogger…

So, Rhye. This was released in February, if my google-fu does not fail, and comes forth from Rhye’s EP Open.I missed this then. How sad that I have been without it all these months.

When I was in high school, I played clarinet. It was not something I had a natural talent for and yet, I didn’t let that deter me, one of the few times in my life a fact like that has not killed my self-esteem and talked me into just quitting. I got good at it. Then I went to college and my mom sold my clarinet. I’m still angry about that one. But it makes me feel better that within the first :25 of this song, clarinet. The thing is, it’s so hard to add clarinet without sounding like fucking Supertramp so I get sickeningly excited when someone does it and does it right. /Clarinet Rant.

I have sequestered this song in a playlist by itself. It’s cold and alone but I’m with it there, volume turned all the way to the right. If the words, “I wanna make this play, oh I know you’re faded” aren’t relevant to my life right now, then nothing is. Highly recommend this EP, y’all.

**

Rhye :: Open [mp3]

BUY Open EP :: FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

