tabs open :: 10:02 pm, 28 june 2011 / 5:47 pm, 29 june 2011

This time (as opposed to this time), with a little less talk and a lot more tab.  Seriously, this shit up here is just out of control and all of it good, so let’s preserve it here for posterity, eh?  Eh.  (Note: The ass end of this post is video heavy.  But don’t get your knickers in a twist; watch all those movin’ pictures and get happy.)

**

Tab One :: Whiskey Folk Ramblers Facebook Page

Brought to my attention by drummer man extraordinaire Daniel T Hall as the Whiskey Folk Ramblers happen to be playing a CD release with his band, Fox and The Bird.  Good jams, good jams.

Whiskey Folk Ramblers :: Moanin’ Rag [MP3]

BUY WFR’s latest, And There Are Devils :: WEBSITE

**

Tab Two :: Dead Man’s Bones live video for ‘Name In Stone’

This here is a gem and one that I cannot say for sure how I located it or why.  But who gives a shit, yo.  I’ve hit replay on this video about a million times in the past week and I still find myself jonesing for this tune on the regular.  The choir moves me, the quiet weight of Gosling’s voice (yes, that Gosling), the fucking cemetery.  I raise my flag up into your heart, you let the wind come tear it apart.  Now clap along, kids.  [Sidenote: NOT CLOSING THIS TAB.]

Dead Man’s Bones :: Name In Stone (recorded live in a cemetery that is all) [MP3]

BUY Dead Man’s Bones 

**

Tab Three :: The Pines Daytrotter Session

I’ve yet to make it all the way through but I can tell you one jam in, it’s worth your time.

**

Tab Four :: Pigeon Row Bandcamp

Do not be confused, Pigeon Row is not a band (though, admittedly, I dig that as a band name), but instead a PR firm out of Nova Scotia.  But this looks to me like yet another tab I’ll need to keep open to further investigate.  After all, anyone (or any firm, whatever) working towards getting all the world acquainted with The Sheepdogs is good people in my book.  But the particular thing I’m jamming on via Pigeon Row?  I’ll just leave it down here for you…

Kate Maki :: Lose My Mind [STREAM]

DOWNLOAD ‘Lose My Mind’ :: Pigeon Row PR

**

Tab Five :: The Lion & The Wolf Bandcamp

I’ve yet to really devour all of this yet either but 1:52 into the first tune and I was intrigued so atop my browser it sits.

DOWNLOAD the S/T EP

**

Tab Six :: I Draw Slow’s video for ‘Goldmine’

Having never heard of Irish band (yes?) I Draw Slow, I wasn’t expecting much but I happen to love this song.  I’ve got a feeling I’ma need to be locating and downloading this album.

MYSPACE

**

Tab Seven :: Lost In The Trees Violitionist Session

Had never heard of Violitionist either but hell, I’m down with it to the max.  Have heard of Lost In The Trees of course and also, down with that.  The combination of the two, below, is so so sweet.

Lost In The Trees :: Walk Around The Lake [MP3]

BUY All Alone In An Empty House :: WEBSITE 

**

Tab Eight :: Trampled By Turtles HearYa Session

Seriously, you guys, ‘Victory’ has been my fucking jam for a week (along with all this other shit up in here I said was my jam this week).  So naturally, I was really excited to run across notice of this just released HearYa Session yesterday.  On top of the awesomeness of my current fave jam being included, we were gifted with a new tune, ‘Widower’s Heart’.  It’s stunning.

Watch that video, seriously.  You cannot tell me there is anything much better in the world than a bunch of bearded dudes, sitting in a half circle, banjo and mandolin and fiddle abounding.  This video is the best 4:33 of my week, I shit you not.

Trampled By Turtles :: Widower’s Heart [MP3]

HearYa Session :: WEBSITE 

**

Tab Nine :: Dale Earnhardt Jr Jr cover ‘Higher Love’

Best cover of any Winwood song in the history of always.  HANDS FUCKING DOWN.  If you listen to that breakdown and disagree, we will fight.  With fists and shit.

WEBSITE

**

Tab Ten :: MEGA-FUCKING-FAUN!

You think your birthday rocks?  You think that time your uncle gave you a pint of SoCo to commemorate your day of birth was rad?  You think your mother baking you a Star Wars cake was the shit?  Bullshit.  The universe is giving me a new Megafaun album on my birthday.  I WIN.

Leave a Reply

