6am repeat :: the salty sea

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

The other morning, I don’t know what day, why would you even ask me that?, I was stumbling through Bandcamp and I began to wonder, how often do I overlook good jams because I prefer to only hit up the albums/EPs/what-have-yous with visually stunning and/or appealing to me covers?  How often do I miss a good tune put forth for me because the name resembles that of a female?

So I made a list and I set about to listen to every album, in the order they were uploaded, to test out whether or not I was missing out on something.  On the left of the page was a column called “Bad!  Ballz!”, and on the right of the lined page was a column called “Jesus Tits!  Awesome!”.

12 horrible, awful albums in I stumbled upon The Salty Sea.  Granted, this is an album I would have listened to because 1. the album cover was fucking sweet, and 2. there was no inkling given that there would be a female crooner behind it, but so fucking what.  The experiment ended here, I should note, because I spent the rest of the day jammin’ to banjo.  So much for science and theories and shit…

The Salty Sea :: Hold The Line [STREAM]

The Salty Sea :: Already Gone [MP3]

BUY The Salty Sea :: FACEBOOK 

Leave a Reply

