a (not so) tiny mix :: on stumbling down streets and celebrations

As mentioned, not dead up in here.  (Apologies to those who ARE dead up in here, that last sentence was insensitive of me.)  It’s just, life.  You know?  ‘Tis good around here but busy?  Is that the word?  Yes, that’s it.  I feel like I’ve lost weeks when in reality it was A fucking week but hell, ya’ll.  I was born with this insane brain that allows for only a few things on its plate and last week I threw a wedding reception at it, on that involved a radio style playlist but it worked out well considering the amount of booze that was thrown at us for zero dollars.  Still yet, different town, an overnight stay, a long drive.  It worked a number inside my cranium and functioning past packing a suitcase was beyond me.

So to make up for lost time, A (Not So) Tiny Mix.  You kids accept badass mixes as proper apologies, right?

**

Blackbird Blackbird :: Halo [MP3]

I cannot be the only person that feels like Blackbird Blackbird is perfect coffee time jams, seriously.  Shit wakes me better than a stout cup of caffeinated deliciousness.  The whole of the new collection from the Electronic Glo-Fi master is worth a listen.

GET the Halo LP :: WEBSITE

*

Phil Cook & His Feat :: Ballad of a Hungry Mother [MP3]

Stumbling upon the one-man-band solo project of Phil Cook (of Megafaun) months ago was a great day over here.  In truth and my opinion (which are one and the same), instrumental tunes are only worth a listen if done properly and that so rarely happens that I, whether right or wrong, would typically ignore this type of shit.  However, Mr. Cook has it down.  So much so that instead of self-releasing the second mix of songs himself, Trekky Records is doing it for him in May.  I highly recommend both this jam AND the self-titled debut.

GET Phil Cook & His Feat :: Trekky Records

*

Jennie Abrahamson :: Hard To Come By [MP3]

While I genuinely believe chicks are a totally badass sub-sect of humans, I don’t actually listen to too much chick jams.  Patty Griffin, Stevie Nicks, Florence and the Machine.  Off the top of my head, that’s what I got.  But I must admit, I dig this pop stomper (recommended by New Music Co.).

WEBSITE

*

New Animal :: Out And Up Against The Wall [MP3]

As mentioned, this past weekend was spent at a wedding reception.  Said shindig was held in a town in which I used to reside.  A town that I loved and yet one that tore me apart.  This celebration was held in the downtown area where I used to work and drink and make horrible life decisions and so walking down those roads, slightly inebriated and a completely different person from the last time I stepped on Walnut Street, I sort of lost my shit.  The next morning, mentally exhausted on the ride home, ‘Fires In The Backyard’ soundtracked the drive.  I love New Animal.

GET New Animal :: SOUNDCLOUD

*

The Young Folk :: Way Down South [MP3]

The quiet rising of this tune gets me.  “Be sure you don’t hurt the ones you love.”  That right there is fucking excellent life advice, kids.

MYSPACE

*

Fleet Foxes :: Battery Kinzie [MP3]

Yes, I TOO am blogging this shit.  But dude, it’s like modern day Paul Simon if he smoked less weed, drank more beer, and grew a beard.

PRE-ORDER Helplessness Blues :: WEBSITE

*

Dry The River :: New Ceremony [MP3]

Ya’ll know I love me some fucking Dry The River.  The electric guitar in the background deceives — this shit sounds like the saddest song written in Civil War days.  Jam out with your muzzle loader out!  Shit man, I guarantee these dudes KILL IT live.

WEBSITE

*

Action! :: Sandpiper [MP3]

Sounds like human owls.  Enough said.

BUY Friend Weakend

*

The Lonely Wild :: Right Side of the Road [MP3]

Let’s close this bitch out with some raging spaghetti western jams, eh?  Let’s whistle, trade-off between the dudes and the ladies crooning, let’s slowly climax this shit with some gaining drum beats.

BUY Dead End

2 comments

Leave a Reply

