hearts :: a tiny mix (or, friends)

Dudes, let me tell you about some shit fixin’ to go down.  I’ve no idea what LEGAL and tasty substances will be involved, if any, but I’m spending the weekend with a collection of my most favorite people in the world and fuck if I’m not stoked.  As such, tiny mix time, youse.

This array of people come from incredibly different and yet equally important times in my life.  Subject A(shley) was gifted to be in grade school.  She taught me my first cuss words, gave me my first drink of booze, and showed me my first naked man, in all his glossy magazine glory.  Now she’s (almost) a fucking doctor.  I’m fairly certain there’s a correlation there but I’ve burned too many brain cells over the years to pick it out of the haze.  She is my best gal friend.  Bitch KNOWS me.  Also, bitch doesn’t mind that I call her bitch.  IT’S ABOUT LOVE.

Subject B(randon) is this dude from my middle/high school days.  One of the funniest boys ever put on the planet and it’s likely that one day God himself will look down and say, “WHOA!  Too many people laughing in that 50 mile radius!  Is that…Brandon?  Brandon?!  Oooohhh, went a little overboard with the hilarity in that kid, obvs.”.  And yes, God says obvs.  Obvs.  Coincidentally, though Subject A and B are from two completely different points in my past, they have now merged and will one day marry and birth tiny Yeti children who will save the world with laughter and science skillz.

Subject C(rabtree) is…uh.  My dude.  MY DUDE.  He is a lovely, lovely specimen of man who takes out my trash, salts my driveway, feeds me fried chicken so tasty I actually save the greasy skin for dessert, and generally walks about making me giddy and shit.  It’s gross.  He is from my latter high school years, a man I have loved quite likely since our first meeting.  In case you’re wondering about said meeting, we were in a pool…and I’m pretty sure his junk was hanging out of his boxers.  Clearly, this was meant to be as all first meetings like ours denote.

Ramble.  Anyway, THESE PEOPLE.  This group, coupled with my family (who, by the way, is better than yours), have literally saved my life a thousand times.  They have pushed me and set me straight and propped me up when I could not do so for myself.  They are my core, ya’ll.

We shall hang this weekend, this gaggle of friends and I.  Some will meet for the first time, though I know them all.  We will laugh until someone loses a voice or an eye — and this is likely, what with our penchant for samurai swords in filled bathtubs, water splashing about as we giggle, fully clothed, at the thought of grown-ups doing what we’re doing.  This weekend will likely end with a hangover.  It will likely end with a mess that everyone will offer to help clean while I refuse.  It will end with dishes piled up and weird concoctions (eggs?) made late into the hours of the night when we’ve convinced ourselves we’re starving to death.

This weekend.  SO INTO IT.  To wit, a few jams.  Not necessarily a playlist for the hang, not necessarily songs that have anything to do with anything.  Just songs.  Recently hearted at Hypem.  Songs for you.  For me.  FOR EVERYONE!

****

Frightened Rabbit :: FootShooter [MP3]

Best listened to at maximum volume.  Drums.  Frightened Rabbit, FTW!

BUY The Winter of Mixed Drinks :: via Eric N Magill‘s Hypem Hearts

**

Alex Winston :: Sister Wife [MP3]

Folks, this here is about as close to pop music as I get.  And you know what?  Between this jam and Big Love, it’s possible that I’m now down with polygamy.

MYSPACE :: via Pigeons and Planes

**

Dry The River :: History Book [MP3]

I feel like this reminds me somewhat of Dave Matthews with a splash of Horse Feathers and a pinch of Juniper Tar sounds.  And then, on the plate at 12 o’ clock (restaurant humor!) is a very small side of Justin Vernon, just for some added flavor.  Dip your chicken in it.

DOWNLOAD more from Dry The River :: WEBSITE :: via Pop Cop

**

The Love Language :: Heart To Tell [MP3]

How the fuck do I sometimes end up so behind?  Why in the hell don’t I investigate the Merge Records catalog daily?  HOW MUCH COULD I POSSIBLY HEART THE LOVE LANGUAGE?  Why do I feel it’s necessary to use so many caps and so few exclamation points?

BUY Libraries :: via Muzzle of Bees

**

The Middle East :: Blood [MP3]

Dudes scored a gig opening for The fucking National.  I bet they think this year is the shit.  I highly recommend giving this a minute of your time and listening real hard with open ears to the lyrics — as someone who attempts to write I can tell you that the words here are gorgeous as fuck.  Lookit…

Older father, weary soul, you’ll drive
back to the home you made on the mountain side.
With that only terrible thing,
those papers for divorce,
and a lonely ring,
a lonely ring,
sit on your porch,
and pluck your strings.

Yeah.

BUY The Middle East :: via It All Started With Carbon Monoxide

**

Big Hurry :: Northern [MP3]

Fellow music nerd Jim (he of Draw Us Lines) has been blithering all week about Big Hurry.  Turns out, his blithering is worth your time.  Big Hurry’s got a new EP available to the masses the 28th of this very month.

DOWNLOAD more Big Hurry :: via Draw Us Lines

**

Enjoy the weekend, kids.  Imbibe safely, call your mom for a ride if necessary.

Leave a Reply

