6am repeat :: shakey graves ‘unlucky skin’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

Today, a good majority of my family begins its hiatus from work in honor of this crazy Christmas holiday America’s got going on.  I will, however, be slaving away for the man while they gather in wood-heated homes to bake cookies and get into the spirit.  Jerks, one and all, they.  But I divagate.  These just discovered jams via Shakey Graves this morning are soothing my anger and warming my soul.  Put Roll The Bones on your list of ditties you should be listening to if you’d like to achieve musically enlightened status.

Sidenote: In just a couple short days, mere hours really, there will be a banjo gifted in this home and shortly after that, there will sit a small boy strumming it on the floor.  It’s like Mommy Folk Dreams Realized and shit.  I mean have you people ever seen special order finger picks for tiny boys?!  Cuter than internet cat memes, I tell you.  I CAN HAS TINY FINGER PICKS.

Shakey Graves :: Unlucky Skin [MP3]

BUY Roll The Bones :: BANDCAMP

1 comment
  1. Jim said:

    love love love this shit. Super weird but warm and comforting. Thanks for this, Sam.

Leave a Reply

