akron/family :: ‘new jan jam’

This jam reminds me of something.  Perhaps not something, so much as a time.  The Gods might well have blasted this song out of the sky when I was 9 years old and disobeying my parents orders to stay away from the creek in the woods.  A group of 5 or 6 kids on the street would venture down past the nursing home, over the hill, and into the creek bed.  From that starting point we’d walk a half mile to the spot that resides behind the house I now live in to a secret spot at the creek.

Hidden back there, in the middle of the woods in the middle of town, was a magical spot for all of us.  A lithe branch hung out over the shallow water in such a way that we were able to grab it and dangle over the algae covered flat rocks that ran along a slight downward slope to a small, clear pool perfect for splashing and swimming.  The trees were dense and the sun was only given so much leeway so we warmed ourselves there on the tiny bank by their rays only.

New Jan Jam will most likely not see the light of day on any upcoming Akron/Family releases but for now, it’s given me reason to fight the urge to put it in my son’s earphones, tuck my pants into my socks, don a swimsuit under my clothes, and head off back behind the house to introduce my boy to that wonderful spot I haven’t seen in over 20 years despite it’s proximity to my physical address.

Leave a Reply

