6am repeat :: the native sibling // ‘follow trees’

6am Repeat is a recurring feature here at Folk Hive in which we stream the latest track that plays incessantly in the earbuds when we awake at that hour and imbibe massive amounts of coffee and cigarettes in preparation for the advancing day.  Consider it your jam of the day — a sweet, sweet gift from me to you.  I love you, dude.

You intake what you’re able before its past, 
An experience here as well as there will last, 
A checkmate as you’re tipping back a glass…

Welp, piss. My new anthem is “welp, piss”.

I set out this morning in search of songs that detailed vulnerability and made me feel better about such things. I don’t know that this, this sweet little tune from The Native Sibling works, but I tell you, the calling to “intake what you’re able before it’s past” feels like it fits. I’m hazy this morning and maybe I’m wrong (I’m always wrong lately, it seems) but it feels good to hear that line sung to me as the sun begins to peek through the kitchen window, unfreezing the mist that crystallized on the leftover grass overnight.

Good morning. Say it enough, will it so. Good morning.

**

The Native Sibling :: Follow Trees [mp3]

BUY / DOWNLOAD Water Too Deep, Words Too Shallow :: FACEBOOK

Leave a comment