the past is your gun :: a folk hive mixtape

Absent for a month and indeed, sorry for that. But here we are now: the fall has descended upon the Ozarks and year 30 has dropped into my lap.

Let me admit some things. I will admit that I have not written since early October. I will admit that I have not listened to music — not a mixtape in my car, not a snuck secular jam in my office, not a handcrafted playlist in my home — in more than a month.

I will admit that it’s likely due to a combination of the weather and mood. I now possess a 30 year old disposition and I am finding it unbecoming. It is anxious and frail and it has left me at a loss for words. It has left me drained and without the want or will to find the energy to even just listen. It is a sad state. Those things I will admit.

I will also admit that today I spent no less than 8 hours in front of a computer with no other goal than to reacquaint myself with my medicine, that which has healed me in the past. I forget occasionally how that works and I lose track of the glorious seconds where I encounter a song that moves me and I have to physically remove my hands from the keyboard so that I can place them on my chest and feel along with the person singing. It is their story, their lyrics, but they’ve released them into the ether and the beautiful thing about it (and music in general) is that I can take those songs and use them as my very own ladders. They are helpmates out of holes in which I’ve dug myself into. These songs are friends that talk me down.

Last weekend, I ventured out to a country show. I packed up my travel anxiety and I left town on a last minute whim. I was with a hastily obtained press pass and without a hotel reservation. I packed myself into a tiny bar with 600 others, 300 or so of which I’m sure were most likely breaking some sort of fire code regulations with their attendance, and I danced my ass off to a genre of music that I have not two-stepped to since my childhood. There were two beers in each of my hands and there were great friends to my left and right. At times, I sang so loud and with such gusto that I felt it breaking my heart free from the locked cage in which it had decided it would spend the winter. I attempted to take video of a raucous sing along, “Long Hot Summer Day” so I could remember the minute it happened later — I grounded my camera on the thick hewn log railing that bordered the area where we danced upstairs in the bar but the crowd was stomping so hard that there was just no stability to be found, even among the timber. Fucking music. It saves the day always and apparently not just for me but for hundreds of others crowded in a bar for the country show. Fucking music, man. It’s so perfect.

Here’s to the fall and here’s to the damned cold.

Here’s to making it through the season…

DOWNLOAD the Folk Hive Fall/Winter Mix.zip, y’all.

***

The Avett Brothers :: The Fall

This is a literal fall and there is the fall which drops the leaves from the tree branches. And then there is this song by The Avett Brothers that reminds me of springs and summers during which I opened wide all the windows in the house and turned the speakers up to 11 so that I could hear these words while I planted flowers in the front garden. There was a beer beside me and there was sun on my tank-topped back. Those were the days, man.

Those days shall return, yes, but in the meantime there is old school Avetts to mind that gap.

(If you’ve yet to meet your awesomeness quota for the month, might I suggest a purchase of The Avett Brothers Four Thieves Gone that was just released in the most badass of vinyl packages? Get that here.)

BUY Four Thieves Gone :: SITE

*

Adam Faucett ::The Way You See It (Live at Daytrotter) [mp3]

My history with Faucett is both non-existent and storied. We have never met, will never meet. But if Six Degrees of Separation is a real thing then by God, we’re best friends. I once met two of his pals at a bar, musicians both, and saw his face in a facebook photo of those boys. My musical blogger instincts said that man too, with his beard rivaling that of his friends that I’d once encountered, probably had a band too. Indeed, he did. That bearded, legally blind man was Faucett and now that I am fully comfortable with his wail and his words, I am devoted.

We have never met, never we shall. But his music will ring through this house all fall and all winter. I assume that on the river next year even, I will hum this song in my head as I round bends to long, deep eddy’s.

Faucett’s DAYTROTTER Session :: BUY More Like A Temple :: SITE

*

The Deep Dark Woods :: Sugar Mama [mp3]

This is most likely the best 2:39 of song I’ve heard in the past…forever. A song of lament and hope with a country-folk bent that’s right up our alley. This song has been played over 500 times in this house and will likely be played over 500 more. What with that lament of age and displacement of one’s youth and it’s summery, sunny sound, how could it not?

BUY The Place I Left Behind :: SITE

*

Gin House :: Midwestern Mind, Southern Heart

There is a thing I like about this song. That thing looms large and that thing is a personal comfort and a knowing that lurks within these words. This, to me, is a gloriously written alt-country jam with a full on, lyrical country bent.

BUY Gin House EP :: SITE

*

Passenger :: All the Little Lights [mp3]

Sometimes a mantra is needed, something to repeat as the warmth leaves this Midwestern state, something that will convince my heart that one day the sun will return. The chorus of this Passenger jam work just fine in that capacity: We’ve all got million of little lights shining in our hearts and they show us the way. The sun isn’t always necessary, not when you have all those little lights.

BUY All The Little Lights :: SITE

*

The Oh Hellos :: The Truth Is A Cave [mp3]

At the ass end of 2011 The Oh Hellos put out a stellar album that I dug into just a few months ago. As it usual, I quickly fell in love.

Sometimes though, when one loves an album and a band so much, there is cause to worry. When an album reaches that pinnacle within your heart, one might be cincerned that the greatness of the second can never match the wonder of the first. But awesomely, in regards to The Oh Hellos just released second effort, Through the Deep, Dark Valley, one needn’t have ever concerned themselves with thoughts like that to begin with.

The last lines of this song utterly slay my heart. I was tired of giving more than you gave to me. And I desired a truth I wouldn’t have to see. A-fucking-men.

BUY Through the Deep, Dark Valley :: FACEBOOK

*

Some Dark Holler :: Sweet Red Wine [mp3]

If you’re one of those people who doesn’t believe with all your heart that autumn is perfectly soundtracked with foot stomps, a violin and a dobro, and words about some form of booze then we were probably not meant to be friends.

BUY Hollow Chest :: FACEBOOK

*

Aiden Knight :: Jasper [mp3]

Aidan Knight is a songwriter and a damn fine one at that but not just one man (as the moniker would imply) but instead a quintet of folkies from Canada. I think. In other news, Aidan Knight is awesome.

Also, dudes. Here is a video of Aidan Knight and Dan (fucking) Mangan singing “Jasper” in the snowy wilderness. It is glorious and you should watch it.

 

BUY Small Reveal :: SITE

*

The Wooden Sky :: Take Me Out (Halfway House Sessions) [mp3]

I fucking love this song (and this band) and on the aforementioned roadtrip with my moms, she fell in love with it, too. I learned, after wondering all these years, from who it must have been that I inherited a need to play certain songs on repeat, over and over for days and days. My mother took over the stereo, hitting back again and again, until we realized that she had played this song approximately 32 times in a row as we passed over state borders and county lines.

WOODEN SKY Halfway House Sessions :: BUY Every Child A Daughter, Every Moon a Sun :: SITE

*

Brett Detar :: Coasts [mp3]

Breaking circles, man.

DOWNLOAD Bird In The Tangle :: SITE

*

Wake Owl :: Gold

Wake Owl’s “Wild Country” has, without a mathematical doubt, been played more in this house this year than any other song I’ve come across within the past 365 days. FACT. Want another fact? “Gold” is in the running for being the second most listened to jam. For  an EP release of just a few songs, that’s quite a fucking feat.

BUY Wild Country :: SITE

*

Father John Misty & Phosphorescent :: I Would Love You [mp3]

No comment here because no comment can equal the utter awesomeness of such a duet between the immeasurable Misty and Matthew Houck.

FOUND on Aquarium Drunkard

*

Lemolo :: Letters [mp3]

This is included because of…reasons.

BUY Kaleidoscope :: SITE

*

Chris Ayer :: The Infinite Abyss of Space [mp3]

Listen to the first 7 seconds of this song, indie music fan, and tell me that you don’t like this. Do it, I dare you. See what happens…

BANDCAMP :: FACEBOOK

*

Tumbling Bones :: Trouble Around My Soul [mp3]

Something about some dudes harmonizing a capella about the troubles that those of us in this land seem to innately understand from birth gets me every damn time.

Tumbling Bones’ Selections: 2011-2012 is a stunningly gorgeous collection of jams. I stumbled upon it a week ago and have had it on repeat since, all 8 bits of it. Highly (no seriously, bro, HIGHLY) suggest you snag it.

BUY Selections: 2011-2012 :: FACEBOOK

*

Frightened Rabbit :: Old Old Fashioned

FRabbit is releasing a new album, Pedestrian Verse, in some months and I, for one, with my penchant for slightly depressing yet awesome indie rock, am jazzed for its arrival. To keep my whistle whet until then, I’ve dug out The Midnight Organ Fight and put it on repeat because it is good and I fucking love it.

BUY The Midnight Organ Fight / PRE-ORDER Pedestrian Verse ::  SITE

**

Turnpike Troubadours :: Long Hot Summer Day

Remember when I told you about the time that I saw a band that had a crowd of 600 stomping so solidly that a building made of some seriously large logs actually shook so hard that it was impossible to even anchor a camera? This is that band that I spoke of and this is that song.

BUY Goodbye Normal Street :: SITE

*

Shakey Graves :: The Waters [mp3]

YOU GUYS. Watch this:

 

I mean, Jesus, COME ON.

FACEBOOK

10 comments
  1. bluesmusic60 said:

    Great blog post! As someone who is waaayyy down the road past 30, I can tell ya that there will always be ditches and tall buildings for which you need the ladder from time to time. The cool thing is that music will indeed deliver you back to the solid ground you’re missing. Time and time again, fucking music is there if you let yourself jump back into it. And it sounds like you did with your rousing song and dance — welcome back!

    This looks like a great playlist — can’t wait to listen my way through it. Lots of my favorites already on there, and some new ones to explore. Thanks for passing it on.

    • Ditches and tall buildings, I dig that. It’s amazing how frequently I forget that music will indeed deliver you but I tell you, being reminded of that after having forgotten sure is sweet.

      In the future, I’m going to always keep a country music show in my back pocket for just these situations.

  2. Can’t download. Mediafire removed the file. :/

  3. Well said. Thanks, I needed that. Music has always had my back through every existential crisis. Thanks again, rad post.

  4. Thank you for the mix (looks delicious and I’ll start into it as soon as the download’s done), but thanks even more for your words! Torn between laughing and shuddering in sympathy at your description of passing over that divide… (I barely survived mine, and still, I find it hard to accept…) All yeay for music, though – renewer of souls, recaller of youth, carrier of passion!

  5. MT C said:

    Good to see you are back and what a spectacular entrance! The dam must have busted!

    MT C

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

